ArtistMum: Organizing!

I’ve been bitten by the cleaning bug! My so called ‘studio’ has never been a tidy, neat, organized space. I mean really………how can an artist keep clean while creating? It’s not possible, at least not for me! But sometimes there’s a force that keeps you from being creative. And the ‘force’ had gotten to me! The Feng Shui wasn’t working! And the reason was CLUTTER!

Clutter is the bad ‘force’ that can make any room in your house or apartment uncomfortable, uncreative, unpleasant.

Now Feng Shui is a word that you hear a lot about lately. Simply put, it’s a conscious way of arranging objects in a room so that good energy is allowed to enter. Most rooms can get an instant fix just by removing any extra ‘stuff’. You know…..the mail you didn’t get to sort, the pile of magazines that are always falling down, or the pile of clothes that magically grew three more feet!
But in the case of an art studio, it’s almost…..no…..nearly…..impossible to eliminate clutter. But there is one thing that can be done. ORGANIZE!

So I’ve been spending days going through all of my shelves of supplies and weeding out what’s not usable and sorting out everything into clear shoeboxes or storage containers. And I’m giving each box a label with its contents. The good old Brother label maker has been working overtime! This one is several years old now and was purchased from a Staples store. I noticed that prices have gone up somewhat since but I’m sure there are some out there that are reasonable and suitable for your own needs.

20130407-151851.jpg
Oh how I love the way my shelves look now! I can find exactly what I need in a flash!

20130407-151952.jpg

A little OCD you might think but it really saves time. Now I feel happier when I enter my studio AND I feel more inclined to create since it’s not such an unorganized horror!
There’s a little bit more to do but the end is in sight! And then I can start painting againπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ!
Three cheers for organizing!

20130407-154917.jpg

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art advice, art and life, artist, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ArtistMum: Organizing!

  1. LaLindaArtStudio says:

    Great job! Can you come and organize my studio next? You are so right that an artist studio is never clean. I really need to clean and organize mine, again. Just as soon as I start a new project it’s right back to tornado city.

Leave a Reply

