ArtistMum: Learning to Walk and A Shoe Fetish!

It has been five months of crutches and plastic casts but I am finally free! I am mobile (to some extent) and am embracing the thought of being able to do things again! I feel like a baby learning to walk……..taking one step at a time.

Yesterday ‘Darling’ brought me to the shoe store to find shoes that fit comfortably. Believe me, it’s been a struggle with shoes since I still have a little bit of swelling in my twice damaged foot but I am hopeful that in time, that will disappear altogether.

I know that I will never be able to wear THESE shoes……….

20130305-114624.jpg
But I found two very comfortable shoes that will be kind to my foot!
These are Easy Spirit 360’s. They are lightweight and have a cushioned and textured sole for gripping any walking surface.

20130305-115108.jpg
I researched good walking shoes and through a recommendation from our veterinarian, who is on her feet all day,……… found these sneaker-shoes……….’Whisper’.

20130305-115432.jpg
They are by a company called ‘Keen’ and got very good reviews from customers who bought them. They might not be the most attractive shoe in the universe but comfort is what I need right now!
If you’re looking for that ‘dazzle’ shoe, there is a free exhibition at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York from now until April 13, 2013. I haven’t seen it but do plan on going with my daughter and perhaps a friend or two! You can get a preview here and get a little taste of what you’ll see. They have a pair of Manolo Blahnik’s! If that doesn’t satisfy your shoe obsession, I don’t know what else to offer……I only know that my Easy Spirit’s and Keen’s will have to suffice for now!
How’s your shoe fetish???

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

