ArtistMum: Stuffed and Thankful!

Today is Thanksgiving! I am thankful for my ‘darling’!
I’m hoping that everyone is with someone and enjoying a delicious meal!

I started my homemade stuffing yesterday but never stuff the bird until the morning of.
As a long time cook, I have gotten into such a habit of not measuring anymore. I ‘eyeball’ most measurements and rely on my taste buds to know if something is good or not, or needs more of this or that! But I decided to share my homemade stuffing recipe! Here goes!

20121122-164001.jpg
Yes…..I use one whole loaf of bread and one whole bunch of celery! And about three or four onions chopped! I like my stuffing with the added vegetables because I think it keeps it more moist and gives it more flavor 😀
I sauté a bunch of bacon too! We only eat this about one or two times a year. I’m not giving up flavor for low-fat here so I go the whole 9 yards!

20121122-164405.jpg
After the bacon is browned, I drain off all but about one tablespoon of the bacon fat and throw in my onions and celery that have been chopped. I sauté this combo until soft (about 8-10 minutes). The house starts to smell so yummy at this point! Then I add the onions and celery to the whole loaf of bread that I have carefully diced into bite-sized cubes.

20121122-165108.jpg
The bacon gets crumbled and added to the bread-veggie mixture. I also add one or two diced apples (also for moisture and flavor).

20121122-165245.jpg
The last step is the flavorings. I add salt, pepper, nutmeg, thyme, and some poultry seasoning. Measurements? As I said……I eye-ball it!
I also cube about a half a stick of butter and fold that in as well. The whole mixture is then covered with plastic wrap and refrigerated until the morning when I stuff the turkey with it. Whatever is leftover (and its quite a bit) is placed in a lightly greased casserole dish and baked in the oven for about 25-30 minutes!

20121122-165909.jpg

Homemade Stuffing
1 loaf bread (you can use half white and half wheat if you prefer)
Three or four onions, peeled and chopped
One bunch celery, cleaned and chopped
1 package bacon
1-2 apples
Salt, 1-2 teaspoons
Pepper, 1/2 teaspoon
Nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon
Thyme, 1 teaspoon
Poultry seasoning, 1 teaspoon
1/2 stick butter, diced

20121122-195154.jpg
I forgot to take a picture of the stuffing in the casserole dish but the stuffing is on the left of the turkey (center) on this very full Thanksgiving plate!

20121122-195412.jpg
And the finishing touch to our delicious meal was an apple pie made by my son’s significant other! It was soooooooo yummy with a perfect flaky crust and a tasty medley of fall harvest apples.

20121122-200340.jpg
Hope you all had a great day. God bless us all 👼

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and life, how-to, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

