ArtistMum: Jambalaya and The Little Engine That Could!

Like ‘The Little Engine That Could’, a favorite children’s classic, I am slowly but surely getting around to doing the things I used to do. Taking care of personal needs, like washing and dressing are as easy as one can imagine with one foot being immobile but bigger things like cooking a meal take a bit more energy and ingenuity.

The office chair on wheels is my saving grace when it comes to getting around in my little kitchen. ‘Darling’ takes care of getting out the pots and pans I need or getting anything that’s up high in the cabinets. I can pretty much take care of preparing the meal for the day! Like I said before, these little accomplishments make me feel like ‘The Little Engine That Could’!
I think I can……. I think I can……..

20120928-162852.jpg
And I actually did! I made a nice meal for ‘Darling’ and myself with enough to share with my mom so she doesn’t have to cook for a day or so.
I started by gathering all my ingredients………..

20120928-163544.jpg
Then I chopped all the vegetables and placed them on a plate………….

20120928-163724.jpg
I also diced the ham into bite sized pieces………………

20120928-163823.jpg
Put everything into a large sautĂ© pan as directed and you’re good to go!

20120928-171151.jpg
After about 20 – 30 minutes, you’ll have a very satisfying meal!
Here’s my recipe for Ham Jambalaya:

Ham Jambalaya

1cup chopped onion
3/4 cup chopped green pepper
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cups cubed, fully cooked ham ( boneless ham steak)
1 14 1/2 ounce can tomatoes, cut up (or diced, or stewed tomatoes), DO NOT DRAIN!
1 1/4 cups chicken broth (or 1 1/4 cup hot water with 2 chicken bouillon cubes
dissolved in it)
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, crushed
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 bay leaf
3/4 cup long grain rice, uncooked
Non stick cooking spray or a dash of vegetable oil

Spray (or use dash of vegetable oil) a large skillet with non stick cooking oil.

Add onion, green pepper, celery, and garlic. Cook over medium heat until vegetables are tender.

Add ham, UNDRAINED tomatoes, chicken broth, thyme, pepper, and bay leaf.
Bring to boiling.

Stir in uncooked rice.

Reduce heat; cover and simmer about 20 minutes or until rice is tender. Discard bay leaf.
Serve. Makes about 5 servings at 230 calories each serving.

If you like, you can try cooked shrimp instead of the ham for a different type of jambalaya! Either way, this recipe is easy and great for a week night meal. To cut back on some time, you can buy vegetables already cut up in the produce section of your supermarket.
So if I can do this meal on an office chair on wheels, you can do this easy as pie!
I ‘think you can’! I ‘know you can’!

20120928-172051.jpg

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, how-to, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

