ArtistMum: Favorite Bran Muffins and Designing Logos!

How does one keep busy when you’re not mobile? Well, I use an office chair on wheels to get me around the kitchen and although it’s a bit challenging, I am able to do little chores AND get a sense of achievement. And that’s SO important to your psyche when you’re basically helpless!

Today I decided to make my favorite bran muffins! Getting the ingredients out onto the counter required an extra set of hands and ‘tallness’, thank you ‘darling’! It felt so good to be productive after four weeks of hobbling around on one foot!

And of course I have to share my favorite recipe. It used to be on all the boxes of All-Ban cereal but no longer appears on them. Luckily I saved it years ago and use it all the time.

My Favorite All-Bran Muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup of all purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups Kellogg’s All Bran cereal
1 1/4 cups fat free or 1% milk ( I use 1 %)
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil

Directions:
Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the All-bran cereal and milk. Let stand for about 2 minutes just to soften the cereal. Add the egg and oil and beat together well.

Add the flour mixture to the liquid ingredients, stirring only until combined. Do not over mix. Drop mixture evenly divided among 12 2 1/2 inch muffin pan cups that have been either lined with a cupcake liner (my preferred method) or coated with cooking spray.

Bake at 375* F oven for about 20 minutes or until knife inserted comes out clean.

You can serve them warm or pack them into a plastic bag when cool and warm them in the microwave the next day for breakfast or a snack. They’re a perfect ‘in a hurry’ breakfast when you’re running late for work. A little smear of peanut butter would make them even more nutritious! I sometimes add a half cup of raisins and/or chopped walnuts for another variation. Be wary that adding more ingredients means more dough and that you might have to fill two or three more muffin cups. The more, the merrier!

20120920-170931.jpg
And to further occupy my mind, I’m working on another blog logo for someone. Cannot post any pictures yet but it has to do with cupcakes, cooking, and it’s cute to boot! And my client loves the early sketches……..yay!

And an update on the surgery……. The wound area is still swollen but not as bad as before. I definitely ‘feel’ the plate and screws inside! Sometimes it feels like my toe area is being squished in a vice grip but just for a few seconds. Other times I feel pressure under my foot. Strange! And if I’m ‘on my feet’ or in my case, ‘ rolling in the chair’ for too much time, I feel a bit of pain…….in other words, I’ve overdone it again! Any one that knows me well, knows that I push it to the limits! Well, I’m about halfway into my recovery and sooooooo looking forward to being on BOTH of my feet again!
Until next time…..try those bran muffins. They’re really good and good for you 😃

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, art processes, drawing,, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

