ArtistMum: Creativity and Giving Thanks

Awhile back I wrote about the need to be creative and being passionate in your craft. I also promised to post the pictures I made when I was about six or seven only to confirm that I always loved to draw or be artsy or whatever one may call it! I’m actually surprised that these pictures were even still in existence. Here is a ‘self portrait’ I did of myself at a birthday party. I payed close attention to the detail of the dress. It had hand embroidered cherries on the collar. I remembered it because my mom had made the dress and it was my favorite!

20120714-114842.jpg
I kept a journal that I wrote and drew in every week. Below is the cover picture. No stick figures here! Legs are definitely a bit off though 😃 I think I was attempting to use ‘contrapposto’ which is how Michelangelo positioned his ‘David’ sculpture. Here’s the explanation of the term thanks to Wikipedia.

“contrapposto is an Italian term that means counterpose. It is used in the visual arts to describe a human figure standing with most of its weight on one foot so that its shoulders and arms twist off-axis from the hips and legs. This gives the figure a more dynamic, or alternatively relaxed appearance. It can also be used to refer to multiple figures which are in counter-pose (or opposite pose) to one another. It can further encompass the tension as a figure changes from resting on a given leg to walking or running upon it (so-called ponderation). Contrapposto is less emphasized than the more sinuous S Curve.”

20120714-121731.jpg

20120714-115107.jpg
I don’t think I achieved contrapposto at all!
It wasn’t the greatest of drawings but the desire was definitely there because the more I drew, the better I got. Here’s an oil pastel drawing I did when I was thirteen or fourteen.

20120714-115306.jpg
And now it’s time to give thanks! A blogger, R. C. Gale, who I didn’t know until a few weeks ago, was doing a project on creativity and how one sparks that desire. He found my blog post about ‘Knowing Who You Are’ and contacted me about quoting me in his blog post ‘Creative Links to Help With Kinks’.
Of course I agreed! So now I am thanking him (thanks Ross! ) by linking you to a wonderful writer!
Check out his blog 😃

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, art processes, artist, drawing,, painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

