ArtistMum: Our Sod Affair!

We are continuing with our ‘sod’ affair! Our backyard is finished and we moved on to the front yard, only this time we are doing it the right way. The backyard was done so backwards I cannot believe that the grass turned out okay. We had bought the sod first and it wasn’t until a week later that the soil was ready. When we lay the sod down, it was a yellowish color not the bright green we expected. ‘Darling’ and I put the sod down anyway and low and behold it returned to its former green color! Whew!

So now when we begin the front yard, here’s how we’ll do it!
1. Till the soil
2. Rake up the old grass
3. Sift the ‘clumps’ of grass
4. Amend the soil with organic ingredients, peat, lime, and organic fertilizer
5. Spread the amended soil around
6. Lay down sod pieces
7. Water thoroughly and watch it turn GREEN!

20120521-111212.jpg
We worked every chance we got. ‘Darling’ even was out in the rain this morning sifting the old grass from the dirt. Carpe Diem so they say! I like his set-up for the bad weather!

20120521-111414.jpg
There were a few casualties during the process…….lots of bruises to arms and even my eye. Looks like I got punched out!

20120521-111556.jpg
And forget about having nice nails for the wedding. They are chipped, cracked, and dirty šŸ˜„

20120521-111716.jpg
And we had an honors award ceremony for my oldest son. He graduates next week! Yay!

20120521-111845.jpg
And our other two children, Kate and Kris, and Kris’s significant other Amy ran in the Brooklyn Half Marathon this weekend! Pretty awesome I’d say šŸ˜ƒ
They got really nice medals too!

20120521-112117.jpg
So it’s been another very busy week but a good one. Haven’t done any more on the wedding dress but I do have Memorial Day weekend to finish it up. I am so looking forward to completing it!

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, how-to and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ArtistMum: Our Sod Affair!

  1. Robert Bergman says:

    Lovely good family stuff to talk about! Yeah…and the yard looks awesome. I have tried twice to grow grass in the area left bare by last years storm which took Greenburgh 3 months to pick up…I haven’t been able to make the grass grow there despite putting down grass seed twice and it certainly getting plenty of rain…oh well a project for another day!

  2. alotonyourplate says:

    you have a lot to be proud of ruthie, you raised 3 amazing kids that im lucky to call my friends. xoxo

    • artistmum says:

      Thanks Jess! I give all the credit to God though šŸ™‚ I only guide them and love them. He made them who they are šŸ™‚ I’m glad that they are friends with you as well. Hugs your way!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Pingback: Spreadsheets coming out of my ears. | Something Blue

Leave a Reply

