ArtistMum: Mum’s Day

Yesterday was of course Mother’s day. I never like to receive gifts for an occasion. I like unexpected gifts or acts of kindness. People should be shown appreciation any old time, not when there’s a date on the calendar!

Regardless, I happen to have been blessed (thank you God) with three incredibly creative, talented, and beautiful children. They never cease to amaze me with their kindness, generosity, enthusiasm, and love. And they have amazingly wonderful significant others as well. So I feel like I’ve been blessed with not three, but six wonderful children!

We had a great day of BBQ food, sunshine, and good conversation. Our backyard grass was completed the morning of……..can you believe it? ‘Darling’ and I laid the last few pieces of sod that morning. I had to take another shower and find another pair of jeans to put on since the other ones obviously got filthy. It looks so nice now, right?

20120514-154832.jpg
Hopefully we will be able to work on the front yard sometime this week. There is rain predicted so we will have to work around it.

20120514-155148.jpg

20120514-155503.jpg
So this awaits us!

Back to our beautiful day! The kids were super sweet and showered me with lovely gifts!

20120514-155701.jpg

20120514-155714.jpg

20120514-155727.jpg

20120514-155737.jpg

20120514-155750.jpg
They know how much I LOVE flowers. I love to paint them too. Can’t wait until I have some ME time to paint a few pretty still life paintings. Glad I took pictures of them πŸ™‚
The orchids were from my daughter-in-law’s mom. I have never seen such an unusual flower before. It looks like someone splattered purple paint onto the blossoms! So pretty!

And ‘Darling’ gave me a super beast of a mixing machine that I’ve secretly been dreaming of for years! I can’t wait to try it out. What should I make first? Hmmmmmmm πŸ™‚

20120514-155946.jpg
And from my own mom who is 90 years and 4 months old………she hand crocheted the edges of these adorable kitchen towels. Now this is truly a feat of love because she has such bad arthritis in her hands. But she says it gives her something to do πŸ™‚ Thanks mom…..bless you!

20120514-160615.jpg
I hope that this week will be a bit low key. ‘Darling’ and I are still feeling the effects of last weeks turmoil and unexpected events. Need some much needed R & R πŸ™‚

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art blogging, art processes, flowers, painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ArtistMum: Mum’s Day

  1. Amy says:

    The lawn looks wonderful! You guys did such a great job. πŸ™‚ Yes, please get lots of R&R this week…and we’ll see you on Saturday!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

