ArtistMum: Strictly Homemade

Once in awhile we get a little sidetracked and I am guilty as said! I have been very busy at work and doing bridal ‘stuff’ so I haven’t been such a good blogger but I do keep my promises!
I promised to post the recipe I used for the bridal shower for Thai Chicken Satay. I got it from About.com and made a few tiny changes to suit my tastes. It was really delicious and I think you’ll enjoy it as well.
Now before I get into the recipe, there’s a lot to be said about homemade anything. I love to make fresh homemade food. At least I know that no one put their dirty hands into it or sneezed on it. No wonder we hear so many stories of people getting sick from restaurant food. Here’s my little story that made me think twice about eating out.
I was in Little Italy with friends years ago. We walked around and then decided to grab a quick bite to eat. Who doesn’t love pizza, huh? Well, we each ordered a slice at this little dive and sat down with our cheesy slices. I took a much anticipated bite and began to chew my pizza……yum right? Well somewhere in my chewing, my mouth detected something alien. I discreetly removed the gummy feeling object into my napkin and took a quick peek.
It was a bandaid! Ick, Ick, and triple Ick! 😝
That was the first and last time I ever ate pizza in Little Italy. It was a very long time before I could ever eat pizza anywhere else. Now I learned to make my own extremely tasty crust so there’s no need to have it out…….but sometimes I do.
I just want to make it very clear that my one time bad pizza experience was just that, a one time experience. I just happened to be the unlucky one to find a bandaid instead of pepperoni on my pizza!

So here’s the recipe I promised to post! No bandaids involved πŸ˜ƒ

Thai Chicken Satay with homemade peanut sauce (serves 4-6)
Ingredients:
4 chicken breasts, washed, sliced into 1/2″ x 3″ pieces (approximately)
1 package wooden skewers, soaked in water to prevent burning

Satay Marinade:

Juice of 1 lemon
1 small onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon pepper, or more for taste preference
1 1/2″ piece of fresh ginger, peeled and grated
1/2 teaspoon dried turmeric
2 Tablespoons ground coriander
2 teaspoons cumin
3 Tablespoons dark soy sauce
2 Tablespoons fish sauce
5 or 6 Tablespoons brown sugar
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

Place all marinade ingredients in food processor or blender and mix well. Pour marinade over chicken slices in a bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour or ideally 24 hours. I left mine in overnight and it was great.
When ready to cook, thread the chicken slices onto the wooden skewers. Leave a space to hold onto the skewer. I foil lined a cookie sheet and lay the filled skewers onto it. There are several cooking options here. You can grill them on a BBQ grill, use an indoor grill, or put the chicken on the cookie sheets in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until the inside is no longer pink. You can also broil them in the oven if you want. I like to have choices, don’t you?
Serve with rice and peanut sauce.

Homemade Peanut Sauce (serves 4-6):

1 cup unsalted dry roasted peanuts
1/3 cup water
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon dark soy sauce
2 teaspoons sesame oil
2 Tablespoons brown sugar
1 Tablespoon fish sauce, use more if you like, up to 2 Tbsp.
1/2 Tablespoon lime juice
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/3 cup coconut milk

Put all ingredients into a blender or food processor and process until smooth. The sauce tends to thicken a bit upon standing so you can add a little more coconut milk to thin it out. Serve on the side with your chicken satay and some rice.
I served mine with Thai Peanut Noodle Salad from Amy at fruitsaladlife
This also tastes great as a dipping sauce for fresh vegetables. Or mix into cooked linguine pasta for a nice cold noodle salad. Add some bean sprouts, water chestnuts, and snow peas to complete the dish.

20120422-185122.jpg

I wanted to include pictures of the Kimono and ‘modern Dior’ sleeper that I made for my daughter but I’m waiting for her to send me pictures since she said that she took pictures of all her shower gifts. So I promise to post that next time πŸ™‚ The bridal gifts I gave to her were ‘strictly homemade’!
And I think that ‘homemade’ isn’t as bad as its made out to be 😊

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in recipes, wedding dress and such and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ArtistMum: Strictly Homemade

  1. alotonyourplate says:

    Hi! I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! You can see the post here http://alotonyourplate.wordpress.com/ congrats! You deserve it. Here’s a site on the award if you want more info: http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/ πŸ™‚ – J

  2. dabneyland says:

    Looks yummy! Can’t wait to try this….

Leave a Reply

