ArtistMum: Creative Explosion!

You know when you have an idea and you just can’t contain yourself! Well, I had a moment like that yesterday and I just had to share because I got so excited about it!
Awhile back, my daughter’s fiancé, who’s also an incredible photographer, check him out gavinthomasphoto , gave me a bag of these…….

20120416-201604.jpg
So these empty film canisters have been gracing my ‘studio’ aka ‘workroom’ for a few months and I really didn’t think I’d be able to use them until I came up with this idea! I’ve used this expression before so I have to repeat it here…….. “Necessity is the mother of invention”! We needed some inexpensive, ergo….CHEAP……., wedding favors. So I decided to take the initiative to make a sample of my creative explosive idea that I had when I looked at the pile of empty film canisters.
I decided to try to make bubble wands and bubble containers 🙂
So here goes! Spray paint the empty film canisters any color to match or coordinate with your theme. I did this outside so I didn’t inhale all those yummy chemicals!

20120416-202328.jpg
Then I began the ‘art process’ . I used an 11″ length of 20 gauge annealed wire, available at Dick Blick art materials. This wire is great for simple projects because it’s easy to manipulate. It has an oily material on it to keep it from rusting so I wipe this off with a tissue beforehand.

20120416-203046.jpg
I formed the circle of the bubble wand by maneuvering the wire around a small bottle that is slightly smaller than the diameter of the film canister. I learned from my mistake of forming it over the film canister………wrong! Had to do that one over 🙂
Twist the excess around the stem of the wand. Now you’re ready to add the beads. I chose glass beads because they’re pretty. Use about six or seven then twist the wire back.

20120416-203816.jpg

20120416-204015.jpg
Start curling the wire using a needle nosed plier and complete the curl as pictured.

20120416-204131.jpg
A drop of glue will keep the last bead in place. Now onto the lid! I used an awl to make a hole in the center of the lid. Then I cut a new piece if wire about 7″ long. Start to curl the wire as described for the wand. Bend back, then add a bead. Again, a drop of glue will hold the bead.

20120416-204438.jpg

20120416-204507.jpg
Thread the wire through the hole you made in the lid, then use your pliers to crunch the excess wire under the lid. Another drop of glue placed here is good.

20120416-205917.jpg
And you’re pretty much done at this point! Add bubble mixture, ribbon, and a label to the canister and you’re good to go!

20120416-210359.jpg
So let me know what you think of my explosive idea! Make a few or a lot! They can be addictive 🙂
And I promise to post the recipe I promised from the bridal shower next time. I just had to post this ‘explosion’! Comments please??!!

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, art processes, how-to, wedding dress and such and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ArtistMum: Creative Explosion!

  1. alotonyourplate says:

    I absolutely love these!!! Beautiful.

    • artistmum says:

      Thanks Jess! Comments are always welcome! These could be used for any event including wedding, baby shower, graduation, birthday, you name it!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Katie says:

    These are so cute! What a fantastic idea! They’re super pretty 🙂

  3. artclubblog says:

    Such a clever idea. They really look lovely! I have a box of canisters which I’ve been using to make a variety of crafts with younger children. It seems the possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

