ArtistMum: Cooking Up A Storm!

I do not know what got into me but yesterday I got a HUGE urge to cook like a maniac. I think the reason I did this was because I cannot concentrate on one thing if I have something else to do. Sound familiar?
When I start something, especially sewing or doing an art project, I get so much in the zone that it irks me to be disturbed or have a long ‘to do’ list on my brain. Can’t function! So I decided to cook for a few days worth of meals so that I could spend a good amount of time doing wedding stuff! The days are passing by all too quickly and I still have a bunch of things to do.
So here’s what I did:

First off was making my pesto sauce to use for the week. I absolutely hate to cook when I get home from work. I’m on my feet ALL day so I’m pretty shot. Who wants to stand in front of the stove and cook when you’re beat? So a real quickie meal is homemade pesto over some pasta and veggies. Yum, nutritious, and fast! I have a favorite recipe I call ‘poor girl’s pesto’. I use spinach instead of basil for two reasons……..cost…….and basil is not always readily available. So here’s my quickie pesto:

‘Poor Girl’s Pesto’
6 cups (give or take), washed and dried spinach
1/2 cup pine nuts (roast slightly in a small pan to release the oils, then cool)
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
Toss everything into a food processor and pulse until all the leaves are mulched! Easy as pie and tastes soooooo fresh; not like store bought.

20120331-162344.jpg
Get all your ingredients together.

20120331-162443.jpg
Everything goes into the food processor! And low and behold…….your very own FRESH pesto!
I keep it in a jar and refrigerate it. Use it within the week for freshness.

20120331-162709.jpg
I also made fresh juice with my handy dandy Breville juicer. My rule of thumb is two fruits with two vegetables which almost guarantees a tasty drink. I mixed green apples, oranges, beets, and spinach. Even ‘Darling’ loved it and he’s hard to please!

20120331-163038.jpg
Next it was on to mealtime. I have been stalking Pinterest lately! Tried it yet? You’ve got to try it!
I got many cool recipes that I’ve never tried from this APP. It’s also an amazing collection of crafts from some very talented people from around the world. And there’s so many more interests featured.
Through Pinterest, I found my way to this young girl’s blog (Canyoustayfordinner) about her weight loss journey. She posts amazing recipes and I tried her ‘Lemon Garlic Tuna Burgers’ and ‘Parmesan Mashed Cauliflower’. Both were very tasty and satisfying. The mashed cauliflower tasted so good that ‘Darling’ went for seconds!

20120331-164838.jpg
And last but not least, I made some gluten free scones. I’ve been reading a lot about genetically altered wheat, vegetables, and fruits and decided to wean ‘Darling’ and I off of wheat products. Watch The Future of Food on Netflix if you can. It’s eye opening!
Flour not made from wheat is hard to find but I did manage to find some made from dried garbanzo beans. I tried these scones and they were surprisingly tasty. I can post a recipe if anyone wants to try it!

20120331-165327.jpg

20120331-165335.jpg

20120331-165343.jpg
And after all that cooking and baking, I now have some time to work on the wedding ‘stuff’ 🙂
The ring bearer pillow is coming along. I will add a few pearls to the center of the flowers. Should look pretty!

20120331-170542.jpg
And to top all of that off I also put some vintage lace on candle votives for possible use on the tables at the reception 🙂 What do you think?

20120331-172725.jpg
So if all that activity makes you dizzy guess what? I’m dizzy after all of that too! Just kidding. Just glad things are moving forward 🙂

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, art processes, how-to, wedding dress and such and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

