ArtistMum: Milestones and Much More

Life can get overwhelmingly busy and last weekend was a whirlwind of craziness that I am still recuperating from šŸ™‚
My mom, who met a milestone by turning 90 on January 1st this year, has been an important part of our family and extended family’s lives. Since all the young ones were busy on New Year’s Day, my Darling and I decided to celebrate her special day when the grandchildren were available……last weekend! It had to be a surprise of course so I prepared all the dishes which included Chicken Marsala, Baked Ziti, Sausage and Peppers, salad, and Crab Rangoons. Super yum šŸ™‚ And thanks to my son’s special girlfriend, Amy, we must have made at least three trays of the Rangoons which almost ALL disappeared. I think I cooked about 8 hours non-stop but everything turned out great. You might think that all that food was a bit too much. Not at all since we happened to invite a bunch more people as well!
There’s a little story behind my mom’s real age which started when my kids were young. They always asked their ‘Momma’ as they call her, how old she was, to which she would reply, ” I’m sweet sixteen of course!”. Well, as the kids got older and they themselves reached sweet sixteen, they teased Momma about how they were getting older than her. How could that be?
Long story short, my mom remains ‘sweet sixteen’ to this very day. It’s most likely her secret to staying forever young! We should all learn a lesson from this and live each day as if we were still ‘sweet sixteen’!
So where does the creativity come into play? Well, it must have been close to midnight after I spent hours cooking for the party the next day. Call me crazy but in a moment of true artistic insanity I decided to make my mom a corsage for her party! I pulled out some felt, tulle, needle and thread, ribbon, and some pearl beads. And in about an hour, I came up with a pretty corsage with sixteen candy kisses enveloped in tulle attached to the center of a doubled felt circle and surrounded by felt flowers.
I think the best things come out of necessity. Isn’t there a saying that goes something like…….. Necessity is the mother of invention? There you go! What do you think?

20120122-155351.jpg
Almost forgot the painting I started in the previous blog. I wanted to show what an under painting (grisaille) looked like before I started to apply more paint but that will have to wait until next time šŸ™‚
I just had to share the birthday story first!
So I hope that we all stay ‘sweet sixteen’ no matter how many years we may really be šŸ™‚

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art advice, art and IPad, art blogging, art processes, painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ArtistMum: Milestones and Much More

  1. Charla Anne says:

    This is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

