Artistmum: Wire Art: A Chalice in the Making

If it wasn’t for my iPad, a collaborative gift (for every holiday and birthday for the next 10 years!) from my darling, my kids, and my mom, this art blog wouldn’t be so much fun or as easy to do. I just point, shoot, and write. What could be easier than that?

The goblet, or chalice…..a much fancier word to use……is evolving. I worked on it a bit last night and I had to break out the old ruler. Why? Well, if you want a wire sculpture to be able to stand properly AND look good, you have to measure twice, cut once! I found this out while I was working on my corset collection. Careful measuring was crucial : )

20111106-184528.jpg

The artist Alexander Calder is a wire artist whom I admire and I repeatedly use his wire sculptures as examples in my teaching. I saw an exhibit a few years ago at MOMA, Museum of Modern Art in New York. It was incredible to see in real. Pictures in books are fine, but in the ‘flesh’? There’s no comparison! He was also creative with coiling wire into jewelry pieces. His wife was the lucky recipient!
Examples are below.

20111106-185225.jpg

20111106-185239.jpg
So here’s my wire ‘chalice’ in the making. I found that I had to use the old ruler to measure the spokes around the bottom of the stem. I am pleased with how it’s coming : )
A few more little touches have to be added and some adjustments are in order!

20111106-185921.jpg
I hope I finish soon and can go on to the plate. Do you think I should add more pieces??? Like a salad/ soup bowl? Not!!! Well I could!
Until next time, why don’t you check out my buddy, Alexander Calder?

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art and IPad, art blogging, art processes, artist, how-to, sculpture, wire art, wire sculpture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artistmum: Wire Art: A Chalice in the Making

  1. WOW, cool! I love your wire creations.

  2. Kris says:

    I got to see the plate being made yesterday! Can’t wait to see the finished product. 🙂

Leave a Reply

