Artistmum: Making Art: Good Things Are Well Worth The Wait!

They say that all good things are well worth the wait. Well I finally finished my printing project! It was a long time in the making but a day off from work makes all the difference in the world. I had a stress free day to make art. What a gift!

So here’s how this art endeavor finally came to fruition:

I took out my precious watercolor paper that I had been saving for this very project and found the center of it. My first print of the guitar motif would start there. The printing would radiate from the first impression and I had to decide where colors would go as well. There was no turning back after the first print was made! NO ROOM FOR MISTAKES HERE!

20111101-121010.jpg

It took me soooooooo long to complete this because I had to wash my print plate and brayer after each color was applied. The center row was completed first, then the top and bottom were filled in. All I can say is that I was so thrilled when I put the very last print down. Yay! Done!
So…..any comments? Would love to hear some feedback!

Oh and there are three rows of nine prints. Do a little math here….3 x 9 = ???
There are 27 little prints adding up to one large print! Also forgot to mention that the paper measures 22″ x 30″. That’s a decent size!

20111101-121335.jpg

And below is the completed piece for my number one musician………my son!

20111101-121510.jpg

And now it’s on to a new project. I am working in wire this time and I showed you a sneak peak in the previous post. I have one more piece to make for this project but I am photographing as I go along. Can’t wait to show you the finished piece!

Until next time…… šŸ™‚

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art blogging, art processes, guitars, how-to, printmaking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artistmum: Making Art: Good Things Are Well Worth The Wait!

  1. Robert Bergman says:

    i love how this is coming out Ruthie…so personal. I am sure that this will be a treasured piece of art for Jimmy. Unless it is for Chris. I love the detail of his photographs behind the guitars. As you know I admire your work.

  2. Amy says:

    Ahh so cool! It came out so well….Jim will love it. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

