ArtistMum: The Progress Report!

I had a hard time coming up with a title for this post but then I settled on ‘the progress report’ !
I feel like I’m in school and have to write a dreaded progress report for a child.
Well, the wedding dress and all the wedding paraphernalia that goes along with it is also kinda like a child that I am guiding and helping to grow! I feel that it’s my obligation to give an update as to where I’m at in this endeavor, especially since wedding time is creeping up!
This was a slow week because I was fighting a cold that I finally succumbed to. There are many kids at my school that are sick and since I have been burning the candle at both ends, my body is run down. So the last two days I’ve been staying in bed trying to get some much needed rest :)
So here’s the rundown of where I’m at!

Top of wedding dress is being draped (that means a new pattern is in progress)
I so much wish I could post more dress pictures but then there would be no ‘wow’ response from wedding guests (since I think that’s who’s reading this blog). Daughter and I wish to keep it a surprise from her fiancé as well!
I do PROMISE to post a picture of the dress on the wedding day though!

Lace edge has been appliquéd to the skirt. That took a very long time to sew! Something like 2 hours. Whew :) Just need to cut away in back of the lace. That shouldn’t take long.

20120324-165658.jpg
Next thing I took care of was the garter. Bride-to-be thought that the one I had started was way too wide for her taste so I took off one side of the lace and cut the width narrower. I have still to find a smaller edge to use instead. I also found my wedding garter that I saved with the intent of giving it to my daughter to wear when that special day came. My dear friend, Josie, made it for me so many years ago and I couldn’t part with it so I made a different one for throwing! Silly you might think, but I still have my memory with me since my Josie isn’t alive anymore :(

20120324-170550.jpg
And then I thought of this neat and simple one using elastic lace. I went to Joann’s thinking they might have some but believe it or not, no one knew what I was talking about. I did manage to find some at Michael’s in the jewelry section of all places. So I bought it and almost immediately made this cutie. And by the way, remember a few posts back I was dyeing lace? Well, I had to dye this one ’cause it only came in white and I wanted a cream color!

20120324-170919.jpg
I thought bride-to-be could choose which one she’d keep and which one she’d throw!
I also picked up some very pretty sew-on pearls and some small iridescent bugle beads for hand sewing on the bodice edge. I think it will add a finished touch to her gown. We’ll see!
I’ll most likely use the pearls on the ring bearer pillow as well. Waste not, want not, or something like that!

20120324-171507.jpg
I also have been embroidering the ring bearer pillow. So far I have the leaves and stems stitched. I used a beautiful silk ribbon that I purchased from Threadart. They are an Internet source with a zillion colors and widths of silk ribbons. They also have special needles and other embroidery supplies.

20120324-173154.jpg
And so things are falling into place. Slow but steady. And this little bump in the road, my cold, will pass. So I think this ‘progress report’ isn’t so bad. In fact, I think it’s a rather good one :)
What do you think?

About artistmum

Artist
This entry was posted in art advice, art blogging, how-to, wedding dress and such and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ArtistMum: The Progress Report!

  1. Robert Bergman says:

    First and foremost, I am sorry the cold took over. Feel better. You did looked pretty wiped out on Thursday. The pillow is beautiful.
    I love the lace and the pictures of it going on the hem! I will always remember our lovely trip in to see the lace, trim, ribbon shops. Feel Better.

  2. Katie Anne says:

    Can’t wait to see the dress!
    Feel better, Mum :)

Leave a Reply

